Back to What We're Up To

2016 News

Standing Room Only At the Greene Space To Welcome the 7th Class

The seven 2016 Scholarship Plus winners were introduced at a ceremony on June 7 at New York Public Radio's Jerome L. Greene Space. The standing-room-only audience included families and friends, supporters of Scholarship Plus and present and former scholarship recipients. Among the latter were members of the Class of 2012, now freshly minted college graduates. Three of them – Raquel, of Trinity College, Hartford; Elira of N.Y.U. and Sino of Vassar – took part in the ceremony, introducing the new scholars and helping welcome them to the program.

The ceremony also honored seven Teachers Who Make a Difference, each of them chosen by one of the new scholars. For one of the teachers, Marius Cosma, it was the second time he had won the award. Another mentor honored, Anna Umanskaya, had been, a decade ago, the recipient of a New York Times Scholarship. She spoke movingly of the difference it had made for her, and of her pleasure in helping a student join Scholarship Plus, which continues the approach of the Times program.


Photographs by SKYLER REID

Soma Golden Behr, Executive Director of Scholarship Plus, at left, and Laura R. Walker, President and CEO of New York Public Radio, third from right, with this year's scholarship winners. From left: Vasiki, Isaiah, Emmanuel Jr., Sumitra, Muhammad, Shuofei and Kadijat.


Onstage at the Jerome L. Greene Space, with scholarship winners in front row and the teachers they honored. From left in second row: Anna Umanskaya, Senior Advocate Counselor, NYC Mission Society at Emma Lazarus High School; Andrew Drenth, Leon M. Goldstein High School for the Sciences; Marius Cosma, Grover Cleveland High School; Angelica Vazquez, Brooklyn Technical High School; Robert J. Schimenz, Queens Vocational and Technical High School and Sharon Washington, Mentor, The Fierce Leadership for Youth Program at The Fly Academy, A. Philip Randolph Campus High School.


Sharon Washington, with the help of her daughter, makes a point to the scholarship winners.


Front row at the Greene Space, from left: Ellen Marson, Melanie Rosen Brooks and Kate Fenneman Stokes, all of Scholarship Plus.


Laura Walker, President and CEO of New York Public Radio, with Howard Stein, an NYPR board member and longtime supporter of Scholarship Plus.


Marshall Goldberg and Gale Robinson were part of three generations of the Goldberg family in audience.


Leila Shakkour, a longtime supporter of the program, with Fabien, a member of the 2014 Class who is now in his third year at Brooklyn College.


Steve Shepard and Darlene Ehrenberg, longtime friends of Scholarship Plus.


New York Times reunion: From left, Daphne Lundi, an urban planner who is a former Times Scholarship winner with degrees from Wellesley and the University of Texas, with veteran Times writers and editors Paul Winfield, Erica Goode and Laurie Mifflin.


Bryan, a member of the second Scholarship Plus class and graduate of Brown University, now taking premed courses at Harvard, with Soma Golden Behr.

Next: Our 2015 College Graduates